DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hobbyist vs Commercial Flying in South Florida

RebelPro

Reactions
Greetings to all the members of the forum.

I’m in the process of deciding where to buy my Mavic Pro from and as I trying to find all the information about registration, licenses, regulations, etc (hence how I came across this forum).

Professionally I am a video editor for a TV Network, and when I’m not working I have a huge passion for nature and fitness, which is why I’m constantly taking photos of nature and riding my off-road bicycle.

So, my questions are, there a difference to where and how a drone can be flown based on whether the pilot has a commercial or hobbyist registration? And if that’s the case, as a commercial pilot, if I am using the drone for non-commercial purposes, do I still have to abide to the same commercial regulations?

What made me think of these questions is a post I saw here where someone traveling from Germany to South Florida was asking about regulations and it seems based on the answers he got, if you are hobbyist and you’re planning to fly within 5 miles of an airport, you have to notify the airport, but if you are flying for commercial purposes you can’t or need a C type license?

Sorry for such a long post, but I wanted to give as much details as possible so it can be understood why I am asking all these questions.

Thank you in advance for any information you guys can provide me with.

Yass

If you have a remote pilot certificate, then you must choose whether you're going to fly as a hobbyist (just for fun) or commercially (doing something that generates money for someone) before taking off. If flying as a hobbyist, you need to follow these rules. If flying commercially, you need to follow these rules.

Reactions: RebelPro