DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I'm afraid to try it...

noosaguy

Reactions
This is probably an absurd question but one I'm going to ask anyway. Please cut me some slack because I'm a newbie.

I'm learning to fly the M2P at a local park and beside the park is a river lined by quite large gum trees. I would love to venture over the trees and get a shot of the river and the island but I'm too nervous to try it. I'm afraid that with limited line of sight (even though I'd be well within 500m) the thing might just say, "bugger you, I'm off!"

So the question is, is it likely that with trees separating me from the aircraft, I would remain in control or would that be a foolish thing to do?

Thanks in advance.

Reactions: Elton Hammonds
Just get some altitude and go for it.
You don't want to let the trees get between you and drone until you get some *****! LOL

Reactions: fleurdelisxliv
I get good penetration through trees. Just set your return to home altitude to much higher than the trees. Mine is set to 50 meters. So if you do loose connection it'll not crash into the trees. To be honest the M2P series of drones is very hard to kill / crash. I'm not going to say I fly out of line of sight often but when trees get in between me and the drone I get a low signal warning and then rise up about 5 meters to get it back. Just keep an eye on the signal level. Drone will give you plenty of warning.

So the question is, is it likely that with trees separating me from the aircraft, I would remain in control or would that be a foolish thing to do?
Possibly .. a few twigs and leaves will have no effect but add more branches and you get more affect.
There's no way anyone can tell from their computer.
If you were to lose signal, you would definitely want to ensure your RTH is set sufficiently high to clear any possible obstacles on the RTH path.