DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Intelligent Flight Battery Damage

Doug Greenley

Reactions
I have a question and am hoping some of you have had a similar scenario or the right technical knowledge and can advise.

I crashed my mavic. The battery that was in the drone at the time received some damage to the back side. Also the bottom, where the SN and other info is labeled, has what I would describe as swelling and slight ridging. However, the battery still fits the new mavic and flies fine. I have tested it twice to near full discharge over a parking lot and did not have any issues in reg or sport mode either time.

My question is, obv, is the battery in fact compromised and will it stop working at some point in the future. Should I just bin it.

I have always been told when flying RC planes etc that if a battery swells up, then to get rid of it. I am not an expert but am sure if would apply to DJI batteries as well. I am sure someone more qualified will give you some advise.

Reactions: Doug Greenley
I have always been told when flying RC planes etc that if a battery swells up, then to get rid of it. I am not an expert but am sure if would apply to DJI batteries as well. I am sure someone more qualified will give you some advise.

Yep, that is what my gut is telling me. Just didnt see any other posts like this and thought it would be a valuable question. But hoping still for some good news.

Well a little while after posting this I took to Reddit to see what i could come up with and I found this:

Mavic lipo explosion while driving a Harley on the highway. • r/Multicopter

And that got me paranoid so I did a little more digging, which is what I should have done instead of posting here and found this great resource:

15 things every LiPo battery user should know - The Drone Girl