DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

IPad Mini WI-FI Version VS Cell/GPS Version - My Impressions

raymacke

Reactions
To fly the Mavic Mini I bought a used IPad Mini 4 with WI-FI only – no GPS with OS12 installed. After flying it several times I decided to return it and get the cell version which came with GPS – it has OS13 installed. I am new to drones and to Apple products so please weigh my comments accordingly. I have only about 8 batteries of time logged but here is my impression.

The Mini Ipad fits very well on the controller and is held firmly in place. A cable about 6” long or better is needed to make the connection and are readily available online. Both units seem to work well with the MM and presented no problems for basic flight. The FLY view on the screen goes all the way to the sides but there is a strip of unused black screen at the top and bottom about .6”(15mm) wide. This yields an actual screen size of roughly 7.2” (183mm). For me, this is not a problem but some have complained.

But my observation was lack of GPS did cause a few features to be non-functional.

The first was the mapping. Yes, with Wi-Fi available I could preload the map at home and use it but the tablet had to remain on to hold it. I assumed at the flight location I could use my phone as a hotspot and download the map but I could never get this to work correctly. I could bring up Google Maps on the phone and my location was marked but it would never show on the map in the fly app. I am at a loss as to why. Maybe too it was my lack of knowledge with the IPad but it was connected to the hotspot and could access the internet.