DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Just bought Mini 2 bundle for a trip to Costa Rica, what should I bring or consider adding on.

AlaskaGuide

Reactions
I'm new to the Mavic Mini 2 and I don't have much time to school up on it before a trip south. I'm hoping I can get a few hot tips from this to save me some headaches. Specifically I'm thinking about ordering ND/ Polarizing filters. Any recommendations would be great.

Reactions: eaglesurfing
Definitely buy a set of ND filters.... and learn to use them before your trip. Shooting in manual mode is a must for the best footage and photos but it takes a couple of days to learn how to use the ND filters correctly and what ISO / Shutter combination to use. Youtube is your friend for this.

Yes, a set of good ND/PL filters is the important thing - but only if you're serious about filming and willing to switch from auto to manual mode (which isn't difficult to learn). Think about a landing pad - and the danger of sand. I started a thread on General Discussions with my best suggestion.

Definitely check out the country's drone laws before departure. And respect them. We work a lot in all kinds of countries and I've often seen tourists get into trouble with the authorities (and sometimes intervened to help get them off the hook). More and more people are getting very touchy about drones. Consider personal insurance if you'll be flying anywhere near property or people. "Be prepared" works. And watch out for tea leaves (= thieves) because your new toy is a good day's earner for some people after being nicked and cheaply sold on.

You don't need anything else - other than a great brain, which will enable you to use your drone to its very best. Unfortunately, BrainsRUs hasn't been started yet, so you'll have to work out what you can - but psychological attitude is everything and makes a massive difference.