DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Line of sight - Australian Regs.

Rolls912

Reactions
I’m new to the world of drones. Good fun.

I’ve been flying the MPP for a few weeks now. Reading up on the local regulations they state that “when flying you must be able to see your drone with your own eyes (not just on your app screen, first person view goggles or binoculars)”.

I’ve read numerous posts regarding this topic. What I have discovered since my purchase is that most of the parks have enormous gum trees, the sports fields are usually occupied, there are roads everywhere, everything else is populated by humans. There really aren’t too many places where I can fly this puppy unless I fly it over the sea or drive out of town for an hour or so.

Should I apply these laws literally? Or is it more a case of common sense? Any thoughts on this topic?

Reactions: radman
Flying over people is always a risk, no matter how good a pilot you are, as something could always happen, a motor failure, wind, etc. It might be good to carry liability insurance. And, yes, it might be better to fly in more remote areas or, at least, try to not fly directly over people. I live in a very rural area so can fly freely. But if I still lived in a big city, like the one I moved from, with houses just feet apart, I don't think I'd be comfortable flying much. I can't imagine searching for a drone if it came down on someone else's property, what they'd say or do. And you can be pretty sure if it ever hit someone there would be serious repercussions.

I’ve been flying the MPP for a few weeks now. Reading up on the local regulations they state that “when flying you must be able to see your drone with your own eyes (not just on your app screen, first person view goggles or binoculars)”.