DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Lost Mavic Mini - Lost over water

JrFish

Reactions
Hello all. I'm new here, and of course the 1st thing I post is a 'Please help me' thread. TIA, as I'm sure someone will be able to help me with a flight analysis and recommend if I have any chance to file a warranty claim for the loss. As well, if you have any recommendations on what to send DJI and how best to present the claim I'd appreciate it.

1st disclosure, total noobs, Mavic Mini is 1st drone and we have pretty limited flight time. This was an Xmas gift for my son and we haven't spent a lot time with it, and this is the 1st we've ever tried to analyze the flight data logs.

Short story is, flying over water (actually 1st time to do that) and having a blast. 3 minute flight total at a high elevation with an 8628' take-off elevation. Starting battery 39% with 24% remaining at the time of the incident. On returning the drone to home, manually, it began losing altitude. Drone was in sight, a couple hundred feet away and at about a 50' elevation. It began losing altitude, gradually at 1st then at an increasing rate. Lowered all the way to the water, hovered at the surface momentarily causing splash from the prop wash. Then it began to climb again, but after about 10' of gain it settled back all the way to the surface and slowly sank away.

It was a traumatic scene to stand there helplessly and watch it sink away, unretrievable, while my kid loses his ever-loving mind! Not fun. Although it wasn't far away, water was too cold and deep to attempt a retrieval.