DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MA2 propeller guard question

CobraDriver

Reactions
1st off are they worth getting/installing? Is there a substantial increase in drag, loss of performance etc that makes these undesirable?.

2nd, I have seen the do not provide protection for the blades from the top (still can hit a ceiling and get damaged) because there is a very small amount of blade exposed on the topside. So I was thinking, these things are plastic right? How about putting them in some hot water, soften up the plastic a bit and bend them 1/8 of an inch upwards so the guard does go above the blades providing the protection needed.

Keep in mind, I will be doing alot of indoor flying AND I'm a newbie :)

they are desirable for indoor use, mainly from a safety aspect ,because the drone will be flying without GPS possibly, and the blades love nothing better than slicing through skin or other things they come into contact with they will not impact on the flight envelope when indoors but can be a problem outside if its windy, and if like the MM they could impact on height and distance settings with reduced amounts

1st: I would not fly indoors without them.

2nd: You could try heating and bending but you should not get within a foot of the ceiling. I got too close and my MP sucked itself right up to it.

Reactions: Mrmund
1st: I would not fly indoors without them.

2nd: You could try heating and bending but you should not get within a foot of the ceiling. I got too close and my MP sucked itself right up to it.
Well with enthusiasm and some time on my hands I have found a unit with the extended protection already being sold as long as waiting a month isn't an issue for you LOL

Well with enthusiasm and some time on my hands I have found a unit with the extended protection already being sold as long as waiting a month isn't an issue for you LOL