DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air stopped/paused for 7-8 seconds in RTH

Bharat667

Reactions
Hi, I have been flying my Mavic Air for 2 months now. yesterday for the first time strangely it stopped mid air for 7-8 seconds while it was in RTH and then continues automatically and I am not able to figure out why. I was flying in sports mode then I changed it to P-GPS and initiated RTH manually it flew to home point for few seconds and then paused for 7-8 secs and then continued RTH and I am not able to figure out why. I have uploaded log here - DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

I gave no input during whole of RTH not even when it paused.
any help will be appreciated, I am little scared if there was something from my side which I should not be doing as I don't want to lose it.
also attached is DAT from phone

Attachments

• 2019-10-22_17-29-38_FLY061.DAT
    5.3 MB · Views: 11
Most likely on its RTH path it was flying towards the sun which was or may have been at a low altitude in the sky. This would shine on the drones Forward vision sensors causing the drone to think there was an obstacle in it path. The drone then comes to a stop for a moment and once the light which has now changed has gone allows the the drone to continue on its RTH.

This can often happen even when flying into the low sun on normal flight and can be quite frightening for first time Flyers. Even a sun glare from reflected windows or a very shiny surface hitting the forward obstacles sensors can fool the drone into thinking an obstacle is in front and forcing it to stop.

If you go in Go4 settings and look at warning message log you will probably see the "obstacle detected breaking now" listed.