DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic coming Thursday-What would YOU do BEFORE unboxing...?

TeeCee

Reactions
Ok, so last week I posted a thread about about going to get the MP in just a few hours at my local Frys. After dealing with the associate there, and seeing the final price with sales tax and etc, I got cold feet - I just chickened out. Well, I have been obsessing about buying the Mavic for almost 2 months; so when I found a deal on line that included the Fly More Combo with other accessories AND Care Refresh for a good $150 less than I would have paid here locally, I bought it. Plus NO sales tax, which here in Cali, USA, amounts to well over a hundred bucks. It will be here on Thursday.

My problems are these: I am freaked out about the firmware versions for one. The other thing is, I went to download the GO 4 app in the play store, and the string of 1 STAR and plainly PISSED OFF users as of the last month or two scares me. BTW I am pretty much a virgin piloting anything like the MP.

So, if you were getting your Mavic today, knowing what you know as a current user, and based on your experience...what would you do? I decided finally I'll be using my phone for starting out with the Mavic. My phone is the Samsung S7. I don't have a bunch of apps installed on the phone and basically use it just as a phone and for doing some business (email & internet) as I am an on line retailer myself.

I know opinions will vary widely but I need to get a grip on this firmware and app thing so I can sleep at night.
I would really love to see MSINGER weigh in on this thread because as a lurker here, I'v seen that people really trust his knowledge and advice.

Thank you everyone!
Anthony

Reactions: wytnyt