DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What Would You Do?

hagman23

Premium Pilot
Reactions
In my daily life, I work in marketing, advertising, Social Media, etc and every once in a while, I come across things like this video I will post below. It starts off nice, but within a short amount of time, I see there are some National Park NFZ flights happening. The most infuriating point happens at the 2:33 mark of the video, where the operator is flying over, around, and through a herd of North American Elk that are grazing in the morning at the Oconoluftee Visitor Center inside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I was surprised that the elk didn't react to the drone. Nonetheless, the video was sent to me from the father of the person who made it, thinking the organization I work with would "love it".

So, my question, what would you do with the video? Report the person, leave it, figure out who to send it to? I am not trying to be a narc or a tattletale, but this is such an egregious act that this individual needs to learn from. What would you do?

✂️ Idiot in Great Smoky Mountains National Park

What you do personally is completely up to you. The FAA has people who view illegal flights uploaded to YouTube and other platforms all the time.

Are you sure he was flying inside NPS territory?

What you do personally is completely up to you. The FAA has people who view illegal flights uploaded to YouTube and other platforms all the time.
The FAA only looks at social media if they are part of an active investigation. They don't have people just watch social media for violations.

Also, a simple media post can't be used to prosecute someone unless they can ascertain that the one who posted it is the one who was flying.