DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic quality and customer service

Calhoun Ranger

Reactions
I am a "Mavic watcher". I really want one badly; I have owned a P3P for a year now and LOVE it.
In looking at feedback in various places, I see an uncomfortable amount of negative comments about the quality of the Mavic, the number of malfunctions, firmware bugs, the lack of customer service at DJI, and the many opinions that the video quality is taking a step backwards from the Phantom line. So, I am hesitating.
Please give me your serious summation, both good and bad, of your experience with the Mavic. Can you convince me that it is worth it to purchase a Mavic (rather than going to P4P, for example) ?

One thing to be aware of... it's like when I was a test engineer. I was only exposed to failures, not the high number of successes in the field. As a result, my opinion of our product was serious skewed. typically these forums are for learning and problem solving... and as a result, problems are posted wherein there's most likely MANY more success stories not being discussed.

If possible, it would be best to get your hands on one and decide for yourself. You'll love it ;)

I'm pretty impressed by the build quality, some engineer pulled it apart and was also impressed with the perfection within. Feels pretty solid too. No hardware or software errors yet after 40+ flights aside from updates and calibration. And on top of that I received mine a month after ordering in Oct last year :)

There will always be technical issues with any drone and from what I've read, Mavic is pretty advanced so to me that means more things can go wrong! CS for most companies is pretty shocking but can't speak for DJI 's other than what I've read too.