DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic3 Pro 3x lens - 12MP or 48MP?

marcosvc

Reactions
I have a doubt. The Mavic3 pro's 3x lens allows for 12MP or 48MP. What's the real difference. Are the 12MP real pixels? Is the 48MP pixel interpolation (or division)? For better quality, which one should I use?

I can't really say how well the 12MP mode works as I have only used 48MP since I took delivery. I am very pleased with the level of detail I am getting from these images even at 100% so I saw no useful reason to even care about the 12MP setting. 48MP is the native mode of the sensor and 12MP is accomplished by using a Quad Bayer pixel configuration.

As a point of reference I am a still photographer and am not into video so YMMV.

Reactions: RonanCork
I can't really say how well the 12MP mode works as I have only used 48MP since I took delivery. I am very pleased with the level of detail I am getting from these images even at 100% so I saw no useful reason to even care about the 12MP setting. 48MP is the native mode of the sensor and 12MP is accomplished by using a Quad Bayer pixel configuration.

As a point of reference I am a still photographer and am not into video so YMMV.
I think its the other way around 12 is native mode,and 48 is accomplished by using the Quad Bayer configuration.

I think its the other way around 12 is native mode,and 48 is accomplished by using the Quad Bayer configuration.
There are 48MP in the sensor and if you divide it into clusters of 4 pixels you get 12MP. 12MP is a software calculated output from the 48MP sensor. I use DNG outputs only and have plenty of software tools to refine the 48MP outputs.