Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Mavik Pro went totally out of control

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Hi everyone,

Am a complete newbie to drone flying but had my Mavik Pro in Beginner Mode, GPS and IMU were ok to go and when I launched it lifted off ok to around 2 ft then began spinning and suddenly shot off and crashed. This happened after I updated the firmware in the middle of a vineyard.....hence Grapecrusher....It had been sitting in the sun while I upgraded so not sure if this caused the problem. However, nothing showed on the controller and the updated completed without problem. The drone crashed this way 3 times and although no damage . done I am a little concerned about trying again. Any ideas would be very welcome.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tstillman

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
19,110
Reaction score
9,949
Loc
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.
 

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Hey thanks,

I will check my logs via ITunes tomorrow and post as I don’t think I will have a clue how to read the info. Thanks again.
 

macoman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
767
Reaction score
717
Age
43
I am just assuming here but the spinning out of control, appear to be the propellers not properly installed. But the logs will tell the truth.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jerazmus

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
The props are all fine. They turn quite freely on pre-flight check. The Mavic lifts off straight then just starts spinning
 

ChipDjipro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
448
Reaction score
368
Age
57
First of all I would never do an update why it was sitting out in the sun.
 

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
826
Reaction score
720
Age
53
Yes looking at the top of the motors for the white ring and the same mark on the prop would be a good start . There are two that spin CW and two that spin CCW . Two props have the ring and two don’t .
 

Simmo

Learning every day!!
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
2,198
Reaction score
1,308
Age
54
Loc
FNQ Australia
It wont lift off if props are on incorrectly. Which is nigh on impossible (put props on wrong) to do anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: anzacjack

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Yes looking at the top of the motors for the white ring and the same mark on the prop would be a good start . There are two that spin CW and two that spin CCW . Two props have the ring and two don’t .
All props are on the correct configuration. Thanks.
 

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
826
Reaction score
720
Age
53
I did my update using my wifi in my house . Using your cellphone package will eat up the data in a hurry
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rightstuffer

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
826
Reaction score
720
Age
53
When your drone is turned on and motors off have a look at your screen showing your compass and the two bar grafts that show interference . I would do this at the launch site and see if the drone is unhappy about something
 

ChipDjipro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
448
Reaction score
368
Age
57
Just a note to yourself. Whenever you do a firmware update go through all your settings and make sure nothing is changed. And you should do a Compass and a IMU calibration just to be safe.
 

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Hi, just had a look at the flight logs/reports and it shows compass errors then speed errors. As I was close to the vineyards perhaps there were metal posts that I didn’t see and that was the cause even though I didn’t have magnetic interference on the controller? I shall try tomorrow in a different area!
 

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Just a note to yourself. Whenever you do a firmware update go through all your settings and make sure nothing is changed. And you should do a Compass and a IMU calibration just to be safe.
Ok. Thanks, will double check everything.
 

Taylor1430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
139
Reaction score
73
Age
46
You’ll probably find it is the compass interference. When you try another location, make sure the icon on the radar screen matches the exact direction your drone is pointed. Turn your drone and make sure the orientation stays the same on the radar. If it’s pointing another direction, find another spot and check again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sar104

ac0j

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
2,810
Reaction score
2,249
Age
55
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
 

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
I think you nailed it.....I didn’t re-set the RC or AC after upgrade.....dummies that I am. And have since discovered that all the supports in the vineyard are metal!!!. Thanks for your help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tstillman

Grapecrusher

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Hi there,

Found one of the flight records and it shows compass errors. If it is in beginner mode and I did not get a notification that I was in a magnetic area, would this be because after updating my firmware I forgot to re-boot both the RC and the AC?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
63,733
Messages
743,467
Members
90,618
Latest member
J Hughes