Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Mavik Pro went totally out of control

Grapecrusher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
93
Reactions
128
Location
Thuir, France
Site
www.insoftlight.com
Hi everyone,

Am a complete newbie to drone flying but had my Mavik Pro in Beginner Mode, GPS and IMU were ok to go and when I launched it lifted off ok to around 2 ft then began spinning and suddenly shot off and crashed. This happened after I updated the firmware in the middle of a vineyard.....hence Grapecrusher....It had been sitting in the sun while I upgraded so not sure if this caused the problem. However, nothing showed on the controller and the updated completed without problem. The drone crashed this way 3 times and although no damage . done I am a little concerned about trying again. Any ideas would be very welcome.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tstillman

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
24,989
Reactions
23,108
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Site
MavicHelp.com
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.
 

macoman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
889
Reactions
805
Age
45
I am just assuming here but the spinning out of control, appear to be the propellers not properly installed. But the logs will tell the truth.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jerazmus

ChipDjipro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
779
Reactions
734
Age
59
First of all I would never do an update why it was sitting out in the sun.
 

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
922
Reactions
843
Age
56
Yes looking at the top of the motors for the white ring and the same mark on the prop would be a good start . There are two that spin CW and two that spin CCW . Two props have the ring and two don’t . [emoji41]
 

Simmo

Learning every day!!
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
2,348
Reactions
1,497
Age
56
Location
FNQ Australia
It wont lift off if props are on incorrectly. Which is nigh on impossible (put props on wrong) to do anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: anzacjack

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
922
Reactions
843
Age
56
I did my update using my wifi in my house . Using your cellphone package will eat up the data in a hurry
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rightstuffer

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
922
Reactions
843
Age
56
When your drone is turned on and motors off have a look at your screen showing your compass and the two bar grafts that show interference . I would do this at the launch site and see if the drone is unhappy about something
 

Grapecrusher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
93
Reactions
128
Location
Thuir, France
Site
www.insoftlight.com
Hi, just had a look at the flight logs/reports and it shows compass errors then speed errors. As I was close to the vineyards perhaps there were metal posts that I didn’t see and that was the cause even though I didn’t have magnetic interference on the controller? I shall try tomorrow in a different area!
 

Taylor1430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
158
Reactions
85
Age
48
You’ll probably find it is the compass interference. When you try another location, make sure the icon on the radar screen matches the exact direction your drone is pointed. Turn your drone and make sure the orientation stays the same on the radar. If it’s pointing another direction, find another spot and check again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sar104

ac0j

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
2,809
Reactions
2,267
Age
58
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
 

Grapecrusher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
93
Reactions
128
Location
Thuir, France
Site
www.insoftlight.com
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
I think you nailed it.....I didn’t re-set the RC or AC after upgrade.....dummies that I am. And have since discovered that all the supports in the vineyard are metal!!!. Thanks for your help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tstillman

Grapecrusher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
93
Reactions
128
Location
Thuir, France
Site
www.insoftlight.com
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.
 

Attachments

  • DJIFlightRecord_2018-07-23_[19-54-19].txt
    9.1 KB · Views: 36

Grapecrusher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
93
Reactions
128
Location
Thuir, France
Site
www.insoftlight.com
Hi there,

Found one of the flight records and it shows compass errors. If it is in beginner mode and I did not get a notification that I was in a magnetic area, would this be because after updating my firmware I forgot to re-boot both the RC and the AC?
 
Lycus Tech Mavic Air 2 Case

DJI Drone Deals

1. Mini SE - $299
2. Mini 2 - $449
3. Air 2 (renewed) - $649
4. Air 2s - $999
5. FPV Combo - $1299
6. Mavic 2 Zoom - $1349
7. Mavic 2 Pro - $1499

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
108,475
Messages
1,284,831
Members
139,241
Latest member
Photoadventures.ch