Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Mavik Pro went totally out of control

Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#1
Hi everyone,

Am a complete newbie to drone flying but had my Mavik Pro in Beginner Mode, GPS and IMU were ok to go and when I launched it lifted off ok to around 2 ft then began spinning and suddenly shot off and crashed. This happened after I updated the firmware in the middle of a vineyard.....hence Grapecrusher....It had been sitting in the sun while I upgraded so not sure if this caused the problem. However, nothing showed on the controller and the updated completed without problem. The drone crashed this way 3 times and although no damage . done I am a little concerned about trying again. Any ideas would be very welcome.
 
Likes: tstillman

msinger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
15,066
Likes
7,043
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
www.MavicHelp.com
#2
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#3
Hey thanks,

I will check my logs via ITunes tomorrow and post as I don’t think I will have a clue how to read the info. Thanks again.
 

macoman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
569
Likes
463
Age
42
#4
I am just assuming here but the spinning out of control, appear to be the propellers not properly installed. But the logs will tell the truth.
 
Likes: Jerazmus
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#5
The props are all fine. They turn quite freely on pre-flight check. The Mavic lifts off straight then just starts spinning
 

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
345
Likes
221
Age
53
#7
Yes looking at the top of the motors for the white ring and the same mark on the prop would be a good start . There are two that spin CW and two that spin CCW . Two props have the ring and two don’t .
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#10
Yes looking at the top of the motors for the white ring and the same mark on the prop would be a good start . There are two that spin CW and two that spin CCW . Two props have the ring and two don’t .
All props are on the correct configuration. Thanks.
 

Canuk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
345
Likes
221
Age
53
#12
When your drone is turned on and motors off have a look at your screen showing your compass and the two bar grafts that show interference . I would do this at the launch site and see if the drone is unhappy about something
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#14
Hi, just had a look at the flight logs/reports and it shows compass errors then speed errors. As I was close to the vineyards perhaps there were metal posts that I didn’t see and that was the cause even though I didn’t have magnetic interference on the controller? I shall try tomorrow in a different area!
 

Taylor1430

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
126
Likes
57
Age
45
#16
You’ll probably find it is the compass interference. When you try another location, make sure the icon on the radar screen matches the exact direction your drone is pointed. Turn your drone and make sure the orientation stays the same on the radar. If it’s pointing another direction, find another spot and check again.
 
Likes: sar104

ac0j

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
2,044
Likes
1,540
Age
55
#17
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#18
also, both the AC and the RC need to be rebooted first thing after an update, did you remember to do that?
I think you nailed it.....I didn’t re-set the RC or AC after upgrade.....dummies that I am. And have since discovered that all the supports in the vineyard are metal!!!. Thanks for your help.
 
Likes: tstillman
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
21
Likes
4
Age
68
#20
Hi there,

Found one of the flight records and it shows compass errors. If it is in beginner mode and I did not get a notification that I was in a magnetic area, would this be because after updating my firmware I forgot to re-boot both the RC and the AC?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
47,422
Messages
554,573
Members
70,166
Latest member
The Pepes