DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Max power issue with propellar guard; going down unexpected

Yokurt

Reactions
(Already posted on Max power issue resulting MM crash!, but as advised, new thread for new case)

I'm new to flying drones and I was flying with propeller guards on. I got several max power issues, but I still tried the selfie modes. It stopped and I got the 20% battery warning. I canceled RTH as I was next to the start point anyway and wanted to get it manually down. It was hovering in place and then went down without me doing anything. Luckily nothing seems to be broken, but I'm still worried.

Thanks for any analysis!

Attachments

• 20-01-18-11-03-41_FLY009.DAT
    6.4 MB · Views: 13
  • DJIFlightRecord_2020-01-18_[11-04-15].txt
    1.5 MB · Views: 12
Yeah ... we have seen this scenario before.

You flew with the prop guards on making the Mini much more prone to both drift out of position & become unstable ... this forces the AC to increase the thrust. In your flight you got several "notEnoughForce" warnings, this every time the engines became maxed out. The winds in your flight coming from Airdata.com says 6,5m/s with gusts up to 11,8m/s ... take away 30% of that due to that they use the Spark profile for the Mini & you end up on 4,6m/s with gusts on 8,3m/s. This is way over the top for flying with prop guards ...

In the end of the flight when you lost altitude without command the left back engine had been maxed out nearly the whole flight & the software probably tried another approach to keep the AC stationary by means of increasing the tilt inclination ... it slowed down both front props as it couldn't speed up the left back more. This resulted in a to low vertical thrust & the AC starting to lose altitude. A bit later you yawed a bit & that made thing's worse & the AC lost even more vertical thrust and it descended even faster.

2020-01-27_17-07-12.jpg

Last edited: