DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini or Air?

glc482

Reactions
I purchased a Mavic Mini a few weeks ago, with accessory kit for $400. I found a website that is selling the Mavic Air for $549, with a second battery and spare memory card. Is it worth buying the Air and sell the Mini? I see that Mini's like mine are going for around $400 on bay . Due to rainy weather in northeast, I have only flown the Mini once. I am relatively new at flying drones. I would assume that having obstacle avoidance on the Air would be helpful. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

I purchased a Mavic Mini a few weeks ago, with accessory kit for $400. I found a website that is selling the Mavic Air for $549, with a second battery and spare memory card. Is it worth buying the Air and sell the Mini? I see that Mini's like mine are going for around $400 on bay . Due to rainy weather in northeast, I have only flown the Mini once. I am relatively new at flying drones. I would assume that having obstacle avoidance on the Air would be helpful. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Hi there & welcome to the forum ? :D

The Mavic Air is a much more potent drone in all aspects ... it have exactly the same reliable flight characteristics & wind resistance as both the Mavic Pro & Mavic 2 Pro/Zoom. On top of that all camera adjustments & formats you will need in order to be able to grow a photo interest & OD sensors to assist you to a degree when coming too close to something.

To this package you also have a portability on par with the Mini & a possibility to fly either without the RC only phone ... or without all & only by your hand.

Comparing the Mini with the Air is like comparing apples & oranges ... completely different possibilities. Add in so you have 4 batteries and you are good for at least 1,5-2 hours of drone fiddling.