DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My View of the Competition

AIredale1

Reactions
Currently DJI has a stranglehold on the drone market. They control roughly 80% of the market. They didn't get there by not knowing what consumers want.
They were poised to release the MP3 prior to the MA2 but along came the Evo 2 with a 6k & 8k version. That got DJI's attention; not so much for the 6k & 8k capabilities but more so for the 40 minute flight time.
DJI in its wisdom saw the 40 minute flight time and knew they would have to match or surpass it. So, they've taken the MP3 back to the drawing board to address that feature.
I can tell you that they do NOT see the 8k or even 6k as something they need to match at this time. They currently view 6k & 8k as overkill for a prosumer drone.
DJI has wisely decided to take a step back and see how the market reacts to 6k & 8k in terms of sales.
I'm a professional photographer and I have neither the need nor the desire to purchase an 8k or even 6k drone; which for myself is a purchase that would necessitate an additional purchase of a much faster computer for processing, not to mention an 8k or 6k capable monitor to view it on.
Although I applaud Autel for their innovation for a number of reasons; not the least of which is providing DJI with the motivation to raise the bar (competition is good for we consumers) but if I had a say with the marketing folks at Autel I would have been a loud voice against 8k or even 6k at this time.
Anyways, just my opinion.