DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

National Park Clarification

BigLobster

Reactions
Folks, I’m a fairly new drone pilot (2 months) & find this site indispensable! Thanks to all who have contributed their knowledge & expertise.
QUESTIONS
1. I live close to Cape Cod & would like to use my Mavic Air to shoot video of Cape Cod National Seashore from my boat. I would be launching it from boat 1/2 mile to a 1 mile out from the beach. Can you clarify the rules here? Am I allowed to launch/land outside of a National Park, but go into that airspace to shoot video?
2. On DJI GO app, will it allow me to launch Mavic outside of restricted area? If yes, how far out do I have to be?
3. What will happen to Mavic once it enters into restricted air space? Will it cause Mavic to RTH or hover?
I want to follow the rules, but sometimes they are very confusing.
Sorry for all of the questions, but I wanted to consult w you...“the experts”. Thx.

I guess I'll answer both threads while I'm at it;)...

Yes, you are allowed to fly into a park as long as you launch/land outside of it, the NPS does not control airspace.

I'm not sure what you mean by restricted airspace. National Parks are not considered NFZs so unless there is some other thing like an airport or military base, there should be no problems flying over the park.
Now we wait for the VLOS people to chime in...

There is no restricted or controlled surface airspace around Cape Cod, so that's not a problem. There are airports at the north and south end that are in the DJI database and you may need to contact them if you are flying recreationally and within 5 miles.

capecod.jpeg

screenshot133.jpg

In terms of the NPS restrictions, the boundary of the park is at or close to the shore (see sectional above), and the advisory issued by the NPS for that park states that you can launch from outside subject to certain other conditions: