DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Never have I been so many questions when notifying airport

normr

Reactions
On Wednesday, a friend who lives on the outer 5 mile edge boundary of North Perry Airport in Pembroke Pines Florida, needed me to shoot some pictures and videos of his home and lake, so as a responsible pilot, I called the number shown in the Hover app and was told I needed to call another number for the tower, when they answered, I told the person that I was a hobbyist drone pilot and that I was planning on flying in the area of their northern 5 mile boundary. He started asking for the address of where I was flying, my contact info, my FAA registration number, the weight of my drone, how high I was planning on flying ( I told him I would be under 400 feet) and for how long.

I have never been asked all this information in the past even when I have called that same airport, has anyone else experienced this? Is this something new they are doing since that Las Vegas video of the knucklehead flying above landing jets.

Doesn't surprise me. Since you made the effort to call he may as well get all the details. It does seem that he had a script of questions to ask since he asked about weight etc.

Reactions: PolarBZ
Being that you are calling to warn them. All those questions are pertinent and important information to know if you have the responsibility of bringing aircraft in and out safely. If an accident happened involving the drone and he failed to ask for all that information i could see how that could be taken as negligence on his end.

It must be something new because I’ve never been asked all these questions, in the past, it was just where and how long and how high, It’ll be interesting to hear other people’s reports.

Reactions: Guker