DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Never too experienced to learn

Ralph thompson

Reactions
The FAA used to issue an aviation safety letter years ago, I believe anyone with a pilots license, even in Canada, would get a copy each month. It was mainly aimed at inexperience pilots. Under the header it had a phrase something like one of the most dangerous times for an emerging pilot is around 100 hrs (student pilots typically get their private pilot licence at around 40 hrs). You've got your license and a few hours under your belt and you thing your an expert.
I've been flying drones since 2012 with the first Phantom, I had a couple of Inspires and a couple of Mavics. I have several hundred hours of drone time according to Airdata (Healthy Drones) which I joined in 2015. I've had some hairy moments, a few minor incidents. I consider myself cautious. I have past the Canadian Advanced Pilot Certificate in July 2019 and operate drones several times a week.