DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New terrified pilot

Raos

Reactions
Thanks for having me in the group. I am a very new pilot and kind of terrified every time I fly. I have only had my MA2 for a few days and flown 3 or 4 times. When I first got it I charged up the batteries and by the time it was ready it was dark out. I couldn't wait and took it to a local baseball field that has lights to try it out. It was a blast, but I could tell there is a bit of a learning curve. I was out for about 30 minutes and then went home. The next day I took it out first thing in the morning and after the drone being in the air for 30 seconds (enough time for me to get some height) I got a warning that the batteries were empty and it was RTM immediately. All the batteries were charged fully (including the remote and my phone) so I did not understand what was happening. I freaked out and panicked and the drone ended up going right into a tree about 30 feet off the ground. It dropped and completely broke the gimbal. I was able to get a replacement drone so all is good, but it has made me very nervous to fly. I know I will get more comfortable eventually, but I was wondering how long it took everyone here to get comfortable flying for the first time.