DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Obstacle Avoidance Fail

FlightSkool

Reactions
My first post! I'm fairly new to flying the Mavic Pro, and I do love it, but...I decided to hike in the woods with the Mavic, mostly to get a feel of the controls, and I was using obstacle avoidance of course, and it worked perfectly. Towards the end I switched to active track and had the drone follow me after completing the setup. I got the box/go signal telling me I'm all set. As expected the drone followed me for a few moments, I turned around and checked it from time to time, then I turned around just in time to see it head for a tree, and crashed right into it. Ok, what did I do wrong?! I checked the flight log, and the drone "lost subject" and was searching, I guess it thought the tree was me? The flight log also showed elevation was 3.3 feet, which wasn't correct considering I'm almost 6 feet tall, and it was flying above me. Before the flight, I calibrated the compass which a always do. This behavior is surprising and somewhat disturbing. Any ideas? Suggestions?

I checked the flight log, and the drone "lost subject" and was searching, I guess it thought the tree was me?
That means the Mavic was searching for the previously selected target (you in this case). Try wearing something bright that cannot be mistaken for the surroundings. Flying near obstacles can always be sketchy when using the automated flight modes, so always be ready to take over if needed.

The flight log also showed elevation was 3.3 feet, which wasn't correct considering I'm almost 6 feet tall, and it was flying above me.
At which point in your flight?

That means the Mavic was searching for the previously selected target (you in this case). Try wearing something bright that cannot be mistaken for the surroundings. Flying near obstacles can always be sketchy when using the automated flight modes, so always be ready to take over if needed.