DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Part 107 study material question

JamesJB

Reactions
Curious while looking at the study stuff my question is why do we need to know about Aircraft frequencies? I mean as a drone pilot I don't think we will be talking on the aircraft frequencies or the control tower.

Just was wondering about it.
Sorry for silly question.

Cynical answer - because it may well show up on the test. You should know how to find the Unicom and control tower frequencies for airports on a sectional chart.

Realistic answer - I can imagine a situation in which you'd want to monitor Unicom or the tower when flying near an airport to maintain awareness of traffic and operations.

Cynical answer - because it may well show up on the test. You should know how to find the Unicom and control tower frequencies for airports on a sectional chart.

Realistic answer - I can imagine a situation in which you'd want to monitor Unicom or the tower when flying near an airport to maintain awareness of traffic and operations.
Oh ok.
Yea I know it will be on the test just was confused why we would need to know them. Now I know 😁 Thank you.

Reactions: MS Coast
A few of us monitor air traffic with a receiver while we fly a drone, especially near airports. It helps with localizing an aircraft that is nearby...

Cheers!

Reactions: Greasy and donkep
A few of us monitor air traffic with a receiver while we fly a drone, especially near airports. It helps with localizing an aircraft that is nearby...

Cheers!
Oh ok cool.

And the later drones apps advise when there is an manned aircraft near. Every time I've got that warning the aircraft was close enough I could hear and usually see it, clearly at an altitude above the range I was flying.