DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Phone GPS out by a meter

AnnaBang

Reactions
Hi there
I am a new pilot, and is currently practicing flying in our fairly large back yard. We use an old plastic table surface as a landing zone and I found that it always lands about 1 meter off the take-off spot. I have read a lot on the forum, and I do press the precision icon when I take off, the drone did ask me to calibrate it when we got it (fairly new 2nd hand original Mavic Air), and we have tried the hover after take-off, landing after take-off, etc.
After using another phone, the conclusion is that my phone's GPS might be off. And of course I cannot find a way to re-calibrate it (Samsung A51). I did download an app (GPS Status).
So, my question is this. Is this a good app, or is there a better one to use, to improve the GPS of my phone?

Hi there
I am a new pilot, and is currently practicing flying in our fairly large back yard. We use an old plastic table surface as a landing zone and I found that it always lands about 1 meter off the take-off spot. I have read a lot on the forum, and I do press the precision icon when I take off, the drone did ask me to calibrate it when we got it (fairly new 2nd hand original Mavic Air), and we have tried the hover after take-off, landing after take-off, etc.
After using another phone, the conclusion is that my phone's GPS might be off. And of course I cannot find a way to re-calibrate it (Samsung A51). I did download an app (GPS Status).
So, my question is this. Is this a good app, or is there a better one to use, to improve the GPS of my phone?

Dont get all tangled up in a web.
This is so hit and miss , if your within 3 to 5 ft your golden.

Your never going to pin point every time not even close as there are just to many factors and in the mix of things
it not really relevant .

GPS is accurate but its not Pinpoint. no matter how many phones and apps you try.

Phantomrain.org