DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Poor video quality on new Mavic Air. Am I doing something wrong?

dmcraanen

Reactions
Hi people!

edit: another option: maybe I'm just paranoid and I should move things up to 2.7 or 4k and that'll be fine. Let me know ^_^

I'm new to drones and took my mavic air out for a spin today. Recorded to internal storage in 1080p 120fps, then used the cable to get the footage from my drone to my laptop. Today was pretty sunny, despite a few clouds here and there. Only changed the setting to D-cinelike.

My footage seems a bit meh compared to what I've seen elsewhere. Very blurry / no definition.

Have a look at some of the unedited footage here. Sorry for bad flying, working on it:

What do you think? Did I forget to do something, or is this a camera issue? Photo's seem to turn out OK. Have a look at attachment (just a tiiiiiny bit edited)

Attachments

• DJI_0010.jpg
    DJI_0010.jpg
    5.3 MB · Views: 123
Last edited:
You might try to "reset camera settings" and see if you like the result. Then you can fine tune to your tastes.

Yup will definitely do that once it gets light again. Just a thing; I heard about the watercolour issue on the pro. Are there any known faults with the camera of the Air? Couldn't really find anything as specific as the watercolour.

Reactions: dmcraanen
The fast frame rates (1080p120 and 2.7k60) come with tradeoffs of a sensor center crop instead of a downscale and faster, less polished processing. Only use them when the high frame rate is actually necessary and you can accept the compromise. Otherwise stick to 30p (maybe 60 in 1080 is good too, don't remember).