DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Questions/Wishes from a New Drone Flyer

quickcut

Reactions
So I'm pretty new to flying drones recently getting a DJI Mini 2. I've been flying it fairly well except for today where it got caught up in some tree branches and ended up messing up the gimbal. This happened by some bad luck and timing... I had my drone in my backyard and flew it about 150 feet in the air and then forward. I was inside my home though when I'm usually outside and have it in sight. I thought I was free of obstruction based on where I elevated and went forward and hit the "auto landing" option on the DJI fly app. So it either didn't bring it directly downward and moved forward or I misjudged where the drone was.

Anyway I'm curious about some features and/or gaps with the drone market in general. If any of you can enlighten me I would be very appreciative as I am to just have found this forum.

1.) Obstacle Avoidance Features: I understand higher priced drones like the DJI Mini 3 has obstacle avoidance built in. Will this automatically move the drone away from any obstruction in any direction and by pass the controller? In other words if I'm pushing down to bring the drone lower and there is an obstacle below me that's near will it move the drone out of the way of it despite me holding the controller stick down?

2.) Do any drones have a feature to flip it over if it lands upside down?

3.) I've noticed that when my controller signal becomes weak the drone screen seems frozen when I try to move my drone, but I see the arrow on the maps moving in the direction I move my stick and it eventually will come back. Is the drone still getting the signal even though it seems like the app fly screen is no longer responding in real time?