DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Remote control signal lost

Ali Saleh

Reactions
I got my mavic a few days ago and when I was flying it in my city I only flew it around 2,500 feet away from home and I received a warning that my remote signal was low/lost. I was hoping to place my complete confidence in the mavic that something like this wouldn't happen within a 4 mile radius, to lose signal at such a low distance is startling, anyone know what's going on?

No that's normal. Probably an obstacle or radio interference because you are as you say, flying in a city. You can lose reception 100 feet away if you fly behind an obstacle such as a building.
Go out into the country side away from obstacles and EMI if you desire greater range.

Did you try reviewing your flight log to see if it indicates what happened? You can upload it here.

I had a controller no response issue yesterday. I am a new pilot. Yesterday was my 5th flight with the Mavic. We were in a ball field and never left the field area and never above 50 ft except during RTH. Used the DJI Go app. The battery reached the emergency low status .. I wish DJI used voice (like they do for other events) for low battery alerts instead of beeps. The Mavic climbed to RTH altitude (default), flew over the Home location and abruptly hovered but didn't come down. I tried full down stick and nothing. I tried the X to cancel RTH .. no response. Nothing I did from the controller worked. It was just above me at RTH altitude and I couldn't get it down. I remembered the controller lost of signal feature so I turned the controller off and got it down that way. I had calibrated the compass before flight although I can't see why that would be an issue in this situation. We were in an open field and I was close to the Mavic so GPS and controller signal strength should not have been a problem. I don't know why it got "stuck" in the air and wouldn't come down. One lesson learned