DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Restricted air space

scoobie77

Reactions
The rules just changed and I am stymied. My area is littered with airports and Class D airspace and most of my flights occur within 5 miles of the tower. I have been calling the control tower and using LAANC when possible. DJI will lower their geofencing for me to fly. But now it seems that is no longer adequate. AirMap no longer seems to work dor LAANC, so do I have to apply for a waiver every time I fly? I'm a real estate photographer with a part 107 cert and need to fly several times a week. A different waiver for each location every time I fly would be difficult, not to mention that I frequently get booked only a day or two in advance - not enough time to apply and receive a waiver. Can I get a blanket waiver? How about a waiver that covers months at a time? What can I do to keep flying?

I have always had issues with LAANC authorizations in AirMap. Use a more dependable service for LAANC. I use Skyward and never have an issue with them.

The rules just changed and I am stymied. My area is littered with airports and Class D airspace and most of my flights occur within 5 miles of the tower. I have been calling the control tower and using LAANC when possible. DJI will lower their geofencing for me to fly. But now it seems that is no longer adequate. AirMap no longer seems to work dor LAANC, so do I have to apply for a waiver every time I fly? I'm a real estate photographer with a part 107 cert and need to fly several times a week. A different waiver for each location every time I fly would be difficult, not to mention that I frequently get booked only a day or two in advance - not enough time to apply and receive a waiver. Can I get a blanket waiver? How about a waiver that covers months at a time? What can I do to keep flying?