Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

RTH always about 3 metres from take off point

dbyantis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
621
Likes
261
Loc
Western suburbs of PHL
#21
i think that the maviic pro 1 and platinum were a better way of having precision landing because you had the option on take off of choosing it or not by using the tick box above the take off slider and if chosen it always attained the correct height to enable it to work rather than have to remember to go up 7m as on the mavic 2 just my thoughts on the subject
I don't think that I have ever used a slider to launch my Mavic Pro. Start the motors with the stick command, wait for the Home point to be set, then add throttle. Precision Landing is useful for RTH, but I rarely use it to land the craft, so I wait for HP to be set and just go. If an emergency, the RTH will bring the bird to me, I can handle the landing to avoid anything that has moved since launch. I also prefered my manual transmission car over the automatic. Considering that precision Landing was a oversight by DJI for the Pro2, they may not use it, either.
 

old man mavic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
1,052
Likes
1,371
Age
71
Loc
llanbradach south wales UK
#22
I don't think that I have ever used a slider to launch my Mavic Pro. Start the motors with the stick command, wait for the Home point to be set, then add throttle. Precision Landing is useful for RTH, but I rarely use it to land the craft, so I wait for HP to be set and just go. If an emergency, the RTH will bring the bird to me, I can handle the landing to avoid anything that has moved since launch. I also prefered my manual transmission car over the automatic. Considering that precision Landing was a oversight by DJI for the Pro2, they may not use it, either.
each to there own its nice to have a choice
 

Aussie Oldtimer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
202
Likes
186
Age
61
#25
I made the comment the other day re just how accurate the rth was. Mine always comes within 200-300mm of the home point every time. I have even tried it with a flight over 1km away and it still did the same.

I don’t use auto launch
 

FoxhallGH

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
1,203
Likes
1,014
Loc
UK - Suffolk
Site
www.foxhallsolutions.com
#26
I made the comment the other day re just how accurate the rth was. Mine always comes within 200-300mm of the home point every time. I have even tried it with a flight over 1km away and it still did the same.

I don’t use auto launch
Interesting though, the auto-launch facility in the Mavic Pro (as pointed out by @old man mavic above) gives you a tick box to tell the Mavic that you want to auto-land back at that point. The Mavic then ascends to 6 Metres ... What this actually tells us is that to do a proper precision landing, the Mavic (1 or2) has to 'know' where it took off from. If you don't allow it to go through the full proceedure to get a decent location fix (which in the case of the Mav' Pro includes ascending another 4 metres to 10 metres), before moving off, you won't get a decent spot-landing later on. Like most things in this hobby, preparation is key! You prepare for a precision landing, by doing a precision take-off ... simple as that ...
 

old man mavic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
1,052
Likes
1,371
Age
71
Loc
llanbradach south wales UK
#28
Interesting though, the auto-launch facility in the Mavic Pro (as pointed out by @old man mavic above) gives you a tick box to tell the Mavic that you want to auto-land back at that point. The Mavic then ascends to 6 Metres ... What this actually tells us is that to do a proper precision landing, the Mavic (1 or2) has to 'know' where it took off from. If you don't allow it to go through the full proceedure to get a decent location fix (which in the case of the Mav' Pro includes ascending another 4 metres to 10 metres), before moving off, you won't get a decent spot-landing later on. Like most things in this hobby, preparation is key! You prepare for a precision landing, by doing a precision take-off ... simple as that ...
thats precisely the point i was trying to make, unless you go to a certain height after take off, the precision landing feature cannot be guaranteed to be that accurate. i am not saying that it will not come back pretty close to the take off point, and even if you still want to land yourself you can cancel at any time during the descent it is up to the individual to decide how they choose to fly
 
Likes: FoxhallGH

ff22

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
686
Likes
346
Loc
pacific northWET
#29
i must have been lucky so far. I will use auto launch from now on
I thought autolaunch (is that when you use the icon and then the slider) only took it up about a meter or so? For Precision Landing you need to be higher, 7 meters or so.

Also, the landing spot needs some definition. Taking off from a uniform green lawn or asphalt parking lot won't work well.
 

old man mavic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
1,052
Likes
1,371
Age
71
Loc
llanbradach south wales UK
#30
I thought autolaunch (is that when you use the icon and then the slider) only took it up about a meter or so? For Precision Landing you need to be higher, 7 meters or so.

Also, the landing spot needs some definition. Taking off from a uniform green lawn or asphalt parking lot won't work well.
on the mav pro if you do not tick the box above the slider,it will still auto launch and as you said go up about 4 to 5 ft and hover then if you do a RTH it will return pretty close to the take off point. to get the best from precision landing a landing pad is a help, but the actual reference point that the drone uses is the view it gets after the initial take off and rise to 20ft. it stores visual info and thats why it turns to the way it was pointing at take off and pauses before descending. its only after it gets some 6 ft from the ground that the downward sensors take over and it will use them to correct its position and also determine if it is a safe place to land.the use of a landing pad as you say gives some definition for the sensors on the mav 2 unless you go up over 20 ft on take off it will just hover at around 4 to5 ft as the mav pro does if precision landing was not initiated
 

mig25

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
53
Likes
15
Age
72
#32
i must have been lucky so far. I will use auto launch from now on
Me too. I have over 200 flights on my mavic 1 I never hit the tick mark but always went to 10 meters before flying off. On RTH it always landed on the pad. An inch or so off
I will look into that box on the next flight.
Thank you all
Always learn something on here
 

Roamer105

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
288
Likes
158
Loc
Dammeron Valley, UT 84783
#33
Hello. Whenever I hit the RTH button (or the RTH screen icon) my Mavic 2 Pro will return but is always about 3 metres away from the take-off spot; I use a foldable heli-pad. I always cancel and then land manually. Is anyone else having this problem? I saw a video and the guy was describing the exact same problem with the Mavic 2. He also said the Mavic 1 didn't have this problem. Thanks.
For your M2 to land precisely it is important to make sure the HP is accurate and then rise straight and slow to about 25 feet elevation over your pad. After that, watch it land it pretty much exactly on the same spot with RTH. Also, make sure to RTH far enough away from your HP, else it will land directly.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
14
Likes
4
Loc
Singapore
#34
on the mav pro if you do not tick the box above the slider,it will still auto launch and as you said go up about 4 to 5 ft and hover then if you do a RTH it will return pretty close to the take off point. to get the best from precision landing a landing pad is a help, but the actual reference point that the drone uses is the view it gets after the initial take off and rise to 20ft. it stores visual info and thats why it turns to the way it was pointing at take off and pauses before descending. its only after it gets some 6 ft from the ground that the downward sensors take over and it will use them to correct its position and also determine if it is a safe place to land.the use of a landing pad as you say gives some definition for the sensors on the mav 2 unless you go up over 20 ft on take off it will just hover at around 4 to5 ft as the mav pro does if precision landing was not initiated


Thanks to everyone for all the info in your replies. I did as suggested and it now always returns to the exact spot it took off from, so all is good. Human error on my part!!
 
Likes: JDawg
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
14
Likes
4
Loc
Singapore
#36
Same here, I've done everything suggested in the forums, but have same problem. Always 10' off. This is with M2Zoom.

Hi LiteWeight. I followed the advice from the other members and the RTH and PL now works perfectly. My M2 now lands in the exact same spot - within millimeters - from where it took off from and it even faces the exact same direction. Please review the posts and it should correct your issues, too. Thx.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
5
Age
45
Loc
Lafitte, Lousiana USA
#37
Hi LiteWeight. I followed the advice from the other members and the RTH and PL now works perfectly. My M2 now lands in the exact same spot - within millimeters - from where it took off from and it even faces the exact same direction. Please review the posts and it should correct your issues, too. Thx.
Thanks for the message. Yes, I've been through the threads (there are several on this topic), I've tried everything mentioned, still no bueno. I've given up on it, but it really doesn't matter as I hand catch most of the time anyway. If I ever need to use RTH, I have tested it enough to know it will at least get 10' from Home Point, and that is good for me.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
19
Likes
15
Loc
Morganton, GA
#38
Hello. Whenever I hit the RTH button (or the RTH screen icon) my Mavic 2 Pro will return but is always about 3 metres away from the take-off spot; I use a foldable heli-pad. I always cancel and then land manually. Is anyone else having this problem? I saw a video and the guy was describing the exact same problem with the Mavic 2. He also said the Mavic 1 didn't have this problem. Thanks.
Have had the Mavic 2 Pro less than a week (new drone pilot), and yesterday tried RTH and precision landing for the first time. Wow, impressive!! Literally can land on a dime, every time :))
 
Likes: old man mavic

old man mavic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
1,052
Likes
1,371
Age
71
Loc
llanbradach south wales UK
#39
Have had the Mavic 2 Pro less than a week (new drone pilot), and yesterday tried RTH and precision landing for the first time. Wow, impressive!! Literally can land on a dime, every time :))
hi Tbase please learn how to fly using the controls as well as the programmed flight modes built into the mav.it may help you one day when a problem arises and you need to take control to stop the mav from crashing, yes the RTH is a great feature and will get the mav back to you but practice manual landing as well learn to keep an eye on your battery levels when you fly and aim to get home with around 30% remaining to give you some wiggle time if you cant land straight away .not trying to lecture you just giving you some advice ,to keep your mav safe .happy flying
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
9
Likes
6
Age
62
Loc
Gloucester, NC
#40
Hello. Whenever I hit the RTH button (or the RTH screen icon) my Mavic 2 Pro will return but is always about 3 metres away from the take-off spot; I use a foldable heli-pad. I always cancel and then land manually. Is anyone else having this problem? I saw a video and the guy was describing the exact same problem with the Mavic 2. He also said the Mavic 1 didn't have this problem. Thanks.
It looks like different problems, if you want to call it that, for different people. My M2P seems to be slightly different. I use either method to take off, slider/sticks and almost never go up to 20 feet before moving. Usually I go 3-6 feet before heading off and about half the time I use RTH. I was using RTH with the slider at first and as I got a little more used to everything, I started using the RTH button on the RC. So far, using the slider I have only hit the full landing pad once but using RTH on the RC has put me in the center every time.
 
Likes: old man mavic