DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

3 Saltwater Sights and Sounds - appreciate any comments to improve

sbunting

Reactions
I've been a still photographer for nearly 60 years, so I thought I'd try my hand at video. Should be a piece of cake, right? Well, I think we all know that answer is no. Flying a drone for video is much different than for stills. Editing is another beast to conquer. I wasn't happy with just music, so I went out and separately recorded the nature sounds. So then scrubbing audio was a another challenge. All said and done, it was a learning experience. I intended to capture a lot of the beauty of my area's wetlands and waterways before over development seriously degrades them. I hope I achieved at least that. What started out to be a simple project turned into a 5 or 6 month long adventure.

When I first uploaded to Vimeo, the video was soft and ugly. It seems H265 was not a good fit for Vimeo. 264 fixed that and I'm somewhat satisfied with the quality now. Curious how I can improve it. Some may find it too long, 15 minutes plus, but I'll just have to live with that, unless someone can cite specifics of what could be cut. Appreciate any feedback.

Last edited:
There are some beautiful shots here. Especially of the kayakers. I like the nature noises but some of the bird calls are a bit jarring - a little loud compared to the music. I think it might also be the absence of other sounds in some of the shots. Some wind or light water noises along with the bird calls could go a long way.

Reactions: sbunting
That's very nice work. You must have put a lot of flight time into shooting all those beautiful scenes, and a lot of editing time, too.There's lots of beautiful light in what you shot. I particularly like the clouds moving over the marsh at about 3:00.

The editing is very well done from my "still photographer learning video" perspective. It's very smooth and flows nicely