DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Soon to be Pilot...

Ars3nal3432

Reactions
Hi everyone,

My name is Chris. I have been heavily researching drones lately. I have no flying experience except for a toy drone without FPV that I flew years ago for a couple of days. I'm getting ready to purchase my first drone and I have been bouncing back and forth between the Mini and the Air 2. On paper besides the weight, the Air 2 is superior, however, I am nervous about flying and losing the drone... Who isn't? My two main concerns are wind and interference.

The wind can be erratic were I live, however, I have some experience in weather forecasting. I have found a mixed consensus on MINI fly-aways, some say it's not a problem and others say they would never fly with it again.

I will obey the visual line of sight rule so the distance capability isn't a concern of mine. I am concerned about interference, I live in a suburban setting where everyone has their own wifi. I have watch plenty of videos demonstrating what to do when interference causes problems with the drones. I don't want to buy the mini only to find that it's impossible to fly around my house. Would occusync be that much better in my situation?

What do you recommend?

Thanks

welcome to the forum,its like comparing chalk and cheese between the MM and MA2, although the MA2 costs more, in terms of performance and signal stability between the RC and AC then its a no brainer

Welcome to the forum.

Always buy the best you can afford.

It is an all round win win if you buy an occusync equipped aircraft seeing there is lots of Wi-Fi in your area.

How about a zoom or a Mavic 2

I suggest this because they seem to tolerate wind very well but if you only want to fly around in your house have a look at a Tello.

Good luck

Welcome to the forum! :)

The wind can be erratic were I live, however, I have some experience in weather forecasting