DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Spark vs Mavic Pro vs Phantom 3P

Which drone should I buy (Complete Drone Novice)

• Spark (Fly More Combo)

Votes: 3 25.0%
  • Mavic Pro

Votes: 8 66.7%
  • Phantom 3 Pro

Votes: 1 8.3%

• Total voters

Cebd_31

Reactions
Hello all,

I am trying to decide on my first drone, I will mainly like it to take good stills and decent video.

I've decided I'll go used, so my budget is anywhere between $500-$700.

Which drone, of the three listed above you believe will be better for a complete novice that has never flown a drone before and why?

I am pretty good at photos/video and currently own a decent DSLR, so I would like a drone that I can use manual settings for stills/video and maybe even RAW photos?

Spark - lack of range makes it obsolete

Mavic Pro - workhorse and built like a tank

Phantom 3 Pro - dinosaur. Should be in a museum. Just kidding. There are still tens of thousands of them out there and I fix them every week. The tech i sold, camera is ok. parts are plentiful, but the Mavic blows it away in almost every area.

Reactions: AnzacJack
First done? Spark! Great for learning, does decent video in good lighting (low lighting footage will not be great) and a very reasonable cost now-days (many have bundled controller deals for free). Also, if you crash, better to crash/learn on that than Mavic/P3p. Buy a deal with controller, which gives you good distance and range vs just using WiFi on the phone as a controller. Keep an eye on deals, NewEgg had Spark Fly More Combo as refurb for $334 few days ago (out of stock now but keep eye on other vendors).

If you come to a point that you master Spark and need to upgrade you can always sell and put that money into a better drone.

Last edited:
Reactions: Cebd_31
For $525 I can sell you like new Phantom 3 standard with 3 batteries and all accessories like ND filters, prop guards, extra props.