DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

technical transforms for easier colour correction or viewing of flat or log DJI footage

bigtobz

Reactions
Hey guys, I am a professional colourist and colour scientist who is also a owner of a Mavic Pro 2 (formerly Mavic Air, formerly Spark ;)) When grading my own footage I always struggled as the transfer curves and the gamut (the fidelity of the colours) are not really mathematically documented, besides high end X5S/XZ (Inspire) systems. So I developed a tool for Davinci Resolve Studio, to bring these flat DCinelike profiles or the DLog-M loggish space into something known. Colourists like to work in a colourspace which is also used by one of the most popular camera out there, the Arri Alexa, which is called logC wide gamut. Another popular colourspace pipeline is ACES. This way those drone shots can easily be matched to the main cameras. But I also built in a direct translation to watch the footage in a more expected appearance in HD colourspace Rec709 or in UHD HDR PQ Rec2020. I also have LUTs for Davinci or Premiere. Be aware that this does not involve fancy looks, but you can use other looks which are most commonly created for LogC like footage. And I included a correct exposure and flare slider, to do basic corrections. If you are interested or want to test demos, please visit demos

DJI transform HDR_complete_workflow.jpg

I confess but you totally have lost me. As an ophthalmologist, my neuro-ophthalmolgy professor once told me, the study of color vision should be an entire 2 year eye residency in itself. I guess I will just have to muddle by with my LUTs and standard correction tables in Premiere.

Reactions: SkyeHigh
As an ophthalmologist