Took my Pro to China, can’t get out of beginner mode

Discussion in 'Mavic Pro Help' started by PandaCheese, Jul 11, 2018 at 6:17 PM.

  1. PandaCheese

    PandaCheese Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anyone has experience flying in China? I bought my Pro in the US, followed all the registration rules in both countries. I’m 100% logged into DJI GO 4, even reinstalled it, latest firmwares, map coordinates optimized for China, beginner mode definitely not on, etc, yet something prevents it from going above 30m height/50m distance.
     
  2. Lifted Chevy

    Lifted Chevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    54
    Probably Trumps fault due to new sanctions lol joking.
     
  3. netfolks2000

    netfolks2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    150
    It's interesting that we seem to be the country with the most freedom to fly our drones. I don't see a place for them in any big city, though, even here. So much can go wrong, really wrong, like a forced or crash landing on someone's property. What a mess that would be to explain and to get the drone back. The last time I went up in a city was just straight up for a 360 view. Even then there were powerlines, phone lines, trees and cables EVERYWHERE, plus interference from every kind of RF you could imagine. I live in a rural area so really enjoy mine.
     
  4. PandaCheese

    PandaCheese Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the random comments I guess…
     
    Duse and Youser like this.
  5. Simmo

    Simmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    706
    Location:
    FNQ Australia
    Log out of DJI and log back in, dont log out. See if that helps??
     
  6. Duse

    Duse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    66
    Have you gotten anywhere with this? I'm in the same situation. Does it affect your speed also,like your in cinematic mode(but your not)?
    I haven't been to china and I dont update
     
  7. PandaCheese

    PandaCheese Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Relogging does not help, neither did firmware downgrade…

    I’m guessing many parts of China are under some kind of hidden restriction that doesn’t show in DJI. Go app didn’t accept my bug report from China either. Truly the reputation for no customer service is well deserved. :)
     
  8. Duse

    Duse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    66
  9. PandaCheese

    PandaCheese Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Finally resolved this by tying a Chinese phone # to my account! Flew around the Great Wall at Mutianyu near Beijing with no problem.

    My complaint is the prompt that asks you to supply a phone # seems to trigger at random. I actually saw it the first day after I arrived in China but then it went away when I disregarded it. There doesn’t seem to be any indicator in the app tellling you that you missed this critical step. Then all of a sudden it managed to appear again.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Took Pro China Forum Date
Took ownership of third Mavic Pro today. General Discussions Today at 2:47 PM
Mavic Pro took off uncontrollably Mavic Pro Help May 10, 2018
Mavic Pro took-off without given command and crashed :( Mavic Pro Help May 5, 2018
Pic took with the Mavic pro Photos and Videos Apr 28, 2018
Took the Mavic pro to Panama city Panama Photos and Videos Jan 22, 2018