Join Us Now

Upgrading from M2P to M3 classic?

JeffreyS

A Flying Photographer
Premium Pilot
Reactions
Site
www.jeffreysipress.com
As a longtime Phantom 4 Pro+ user, I also have a M2P, for airline trips. My only use for using a drone is for still landscape photography. No video. As a pro, I use some high end cameras, so the sensor size and quality are of utmost importance as well as the stability of the drone. I've been getting that from the Phantoms. It is possible that the new Mavic 3 classic will produce better quality images than the similar 20MP sensor in my P4P's? But perhaps with better dynamic range and less noise in low light? Another question: is the only difference between the M3 Classic and the Mavic 3 simply the additional sensor/lens? I don't plan to ever use that small sensor so I may not need that model. I appears that all other specs and features are the same. Bummer that I can not use my DJI RM500 Smart Controller from the M2P. Any advice on this topic is appreciated.

I have the Mavic 3 (the model with the 7X tele lens). Although you may not have a need for the 7X tele lens in your professional work, it might come in handy for exploring distant locations to shoot at or zooming in on details you might be interesting in flying closer to photograph with the wide-angle camera. Being in the US you should be able to pick up a refurbished copy of the Mavic 3 with the tele lens at a price that is just above or even below the cost of the Mavic 3 Classic. The usefulness of the 7X tele camera on the Mavic 3 is underestimated and many people judge its quality from the initial reviews when it was released and the software was not complete.

I also have the RC Pro controller and if you are going to use the Mavic 3 for professional photography then you are likely going to want the RC Pro controller. As with your Smart controller, it is fast and smooth and can be customized to suit your needs.

Good luck with your decisions.

Chris