DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Yoooo, newbie here. I have some newbie questions too!

charlie.h1998

Reactions
Hello folks!

Newbie here from California, I'm new to drones but been dreaming to have one for a long time... Just got a brand-new non-combo DJI Air 2S today for $800 cash. I'm very happy about the price!
Yep I also got some newbie questions, hope you guys can solve my puzzle:
  1. Should I go with the Part 107 or Exception for Recreational Flyers registration? I might fly my drone at night.
  2. Do I need an anti-collision light at night?
  3. How many satellites locked are considered safe enough to fly my drone?
Thanks!

Hello from the Crossroads of America charlie.h1998.

1) Register as a Recreational Pilot unless you are flying commercially. You can fly at night as a recreational pilot.

2) Strobe light(s) are required when flying at night. I purchased a four pack of ARC V's and used these mounts from Aerial-Pixel.

3) When the home point has been established (Big yellow H) it's safe to fly. Usually about 10 satellites.

Welcome to the Forum. 😎

Thank you!

Reactions: Droniac and Steel63
Hi! Welcome to the forum!

About the GPS thing this is what I would recommend:
Wait for the home point to be set before taking off. Turn your phone volume up so you can hear the sounds. Normally you will hear "The home point has been updated, please check it on the map" then you're good to fly!
Also don't forget to set the Return to home altitude high enough, depends on how high the buildings are in your area. For me it is set to 60 meters and it is enough, but in some areas I set it to 120 meters (400 feet), it depends on the situation.

Last edited: