DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

2 Mavics at Nelson Bay NSW fireworks ?!

kakao

Reactions
Anyone from this forum was there at 9.00pm with their Mavics?

I ended up watching the drones instead of fireworks, looked like a very skilfull piloting to me.

Anyone ..?!,?

Maybe they were RePL / ReOC approved then ?
It was reported on Aus FB page asking same thing (you might be on that ?)

Also Yamba fireworks, drone was hit by fireworks and crashed into ocean, luckily not on crowded beach.

according to the CASA regs, you aren't supposed to fly at night, or also over crowds and events, anytime. I guess they know this but don't care. I'm only annoyed at these types cos i don't want to have to pay for a license to fly a drone in the future, although perhaps they had approval to fly. I get it, as a photographer I am curious about video of fireworks from a different angle.....so it's very tempting, esp in remote areas. But, most of Yamba beach zone is red on the Can I Fly here app.

Yes, it is frustrating, FB groups are full of this sort of thing . . .

You know what though ?
I wonder how much DJI actually put into their packages now to explain local rules / regulations exist ?
I don't recall getting anything with mine, and early on before I found Forums and good FB group, I flew unknowingly in a Conservation Pk, safely I might add, but still verboten in SA.

Was recently given a ZeroX Rapture drone to play with in Atti to hone skills there, and there was a MAAA flyer in there with all sorts of CASA links and rules, I thought this was a great thing.
I'll find the pic I took on my phone and add it shortly from that device.
77b8d7adc60adc3905183a5923e9d792.jpg

Did you know CASA have changed 30m rule, no longer need to stay away form buildings, vehicles ???
Very interesting, along with no more 45m rule in outer heli zones, just land if you become aware of air traffic.