DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

360 cam attached to a mavic - interactive/movable camera footage

mobile1

Reactions
Interactive Samsung 360 camera strapped onto a mavic - use mouse to look around while riding the mavic - or WSAD keys, or controls in the video top left.. this is my first try didnt notice camera was set to lower resolution.. so more high resolution ones to come here in the next couple days...

more of my other external cam footage is here
Externally Mounted Camera Footage of Mavic Pro in Flight

Last edited:
I was going to try this when i get used to my mavic. I've also got the samsung 360. How was flying with it? Any issues?

It was a day with quite strong wind.. went really well.. it does feel a bit heavier.. and a tiny bit less stable so it wobbles a tiny bit but nothing of concern. Also towards the end coming back I was going full throttle in sport mode.. even that went great. I used two 3M strips to attach it.. plus some electrician tape... only thing I did not have camera set to full 4k resolution so this is a lower resolution one. To make it interactive on youtube ..though google uploading 360 video to u tube.. u need to manually inject spherical data.. easy to do. But it won't work to just upload it from the camera app.

You had the camera mounted backwards. There are also 3D printed mounts that attach to the bottom of the drone that clear up the view a lot. No more looking at the props and the top of the drone. You just need to have ActionDirector flip the few.

Two drawbacks.... the resolution is the huge one. Yes, you should just set it at the highest and leave it there. Anything less is about worthless. Also, as shown in this video, the front facing camera is where the view starts. I think they need to allow the edit to start with a view in any certain direction but that is not possible. What I've done is put a sticker on the correct lens labeled, FRT.