DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

96mm zoom in mavic 2 zoom

JS_2016

Reactions
I just got a Mavic 2 zoom today and am very happy with how it flies except for the zoom. I saw a couple of YouTube videos showing guys changing their video size to 1080 and then being able to zoom in up to 96mm. I’ve done everything they did on their drones as far as changing settings but my drone will only zoom in to 48mm. Is there something I’m missing? I’ve been flying a mavic Pro for the last 3 years so I’m familiar with all of the functions on the Mavics and am wondering if my new drone has something wrong with it.

I just got a Mavic 2 zoom today and am very happy with how it flies except for the zoom. I saw a couple of YouTube videos showing guys changing their video size to 1080 and then being able to zoom in up to 96mm. I’ve done everything they did on their drones as far as changing settings but my drone will only zoom in to 48mm. Is there something I’m missing? I’ve been flying a mavic Pro for the last 3 years so I’m familiar with all of the functions on the Mavics and am wondering if my new drone has something wrong with it.
Your lens will only zoom to 48mm focal length.
The 2x digital zoom is just a fiddle rather than something real.

You also have to be in video mode to see the 96mm. In stills mode, you're limited to 48mm.

Reactions: Thomas B
Your lens will only zoom to 48mm focal length.
The 2x digital zoom is just a fiddle rather than something real.
Sorry, I guess I wasn’t clear ....I have the new Mavic 2 Zoom model, not the Pro.

The 96mm is not a "digital zoom" since it's a crop and not an upsampling which is what "digital zoom" has referred to for decades. If you want to call it something similar a few call it "lossless digital zoom".
You need to be in video mode, 1080p and 30fps or less to get the 4x zoom.

Reactions: Bobvt
No, traditional digital zoom is a crop upscaled to the full size's resolution.