DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Accuracy of RTH…shoreline example…

Reactions
Hello. This is my first post, I’m very new to all this but recently began flying my new Mini 2 gradually more often and father distances after getting over the uneasiness and trusting its abilities. I recently went near my home to a small lake/ park area that’s perfect for flying over, however when RTH is set, it shows the RTH marker to be a few feet out OVER the water, however I’m standing and launching the drone roughly 8-12 on shore. Does this mean RTH would land the drone on the water a few feet off shore? Or should I trust where I’m actually located? Im thinking the former situation applies…..

Hello. This is my first post, I’m very new to all this but recently began flying my new Mini 2 gradually more often and father distances after getting over the uneasiness and trusting its abilities. I recently went near my home to a small lake/ park area that’s perfect for flying over, however when RTH is set, it shows the RTH marker to be a few feet out OVER the water, however I’m standing and launching the drone roughly 8-12 on shore. Does this mean RTH would land the drone on the water a few feet off shore? Or should I trust where I’m actually located? Im thinking the former situation applies…..
When you launch, do you wait until the drone says, "Home point has been updated"? If not, then it might be updating the home point AFTER you've started flying out. Otherwise, it might be some inaccuracy in the map placement.