DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Apple iPad Air 2 WIFI + cellular to get GPS

Turn11

Reactions
I am a newbie, I only have about 3 hours flight time, mostly just practicing recovery procedures and getting used to the world of flight.

I am presently using an iPad Air WIFI 1st gen but it doesn't have GPS. I like the larger display; it was free and free is not always necessarily bad. I would like to have GPS so I will have to get another device. Ebay has iPad Air2's WIFI and cellular unlocked for a couple hundred dollars from "reputable sellers".

It is my understanding I need cellular to have GPS, is that correct.
Edit: I just saw on a Mac forum that the Air 2 "has support for A-GPS" what does that mean?

I "assume" I won't need to have the Air on a network to use GPS

16GB should be enough storage I "assume"

Is there anything else I need to look for.

Thanks in advance,

Larry

Last edited:
Reactions: Doug Lare
Assisted GPS (abbreviated generally as A-GPS and less commonly as aGPS) is a system that often significantly improves the startup performance—i.e., time-to-first-fix (TTFF)—of a GPS satellite-based positioning system.

I am a newbie, I only have about 3 hours flight time, mostly just practicing recovery procedures and getting used to the world of flight.

I am presently using an iPad Air WIFI 1st gen but it doesn't have GPS. I like the larger display; it was free and free is not always necessarily bad. I would like to have GPS so I will have to get another device. Ebay has iPad Air2's WIFI and cellular unlocked for a couple hundred dollars from "reputable sellers".

Edit: I just saw on a Mac forum that the Air 2 "has support for A-GPS" what does that mean?

Thanks in advance,

Larry