DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Brand new Mavic 2 Pro owner

Mgugs46

Reactions
Hello from Bordentown/Chesterfield NJ. I am an avid amateur photography enthusiast and just picked up my first ever drone this morning at Best Buy, complete with the fly more package and then a polar pro ND filter kit (8/16/32).

Haven't even gone home yet to set everything up, but what are some tips for 1st time drone flyers?

Planned to charge it up, and go practice at the local county park; ie a place with some wide open spaces so as to not crash.

Also, when they say that you need to have line of site of your drone, I'm assuming that when you're flying using the phone or iPad mini 4 that that counts? Because otherwise, who flies just a few yards from yourself?

Also I downloaded the Mavic app and the air map app, and was curious regarding which restrictions I need to really follow? The air map has restrictions over schools for example (not that I want to fly there) whereas the mavic maps don't seem to put restrictions there?

Thanks for any tips in advance. Very excited to get started and add aerial photos to my repertoire.

Welcome to the forum! :)

what are some tips for 1st time drone flyers?
I have a lot of useful things in the Must-Haves section at MavicHelp.com (and elsewhere on my site).

when they say that you need to have line of site of your drone, I'm assuming that when you're flying using the phone or iPad mini 4 that that counts? Because otherwise, who flies just a few yards from yourself?
Line of sight means the path between the remote controller and drone is clear of all obstacles (like trees). Anything that blocks that path will most likely make the remote controller disconnect from the drone.

In the US (and many other locations), you also must (per the law) fly within visual line of sight (VLOS). That means you can clearly see the drone with your eyes at all times.