DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

CAA:whats the point then,where do you stand in your situation

Howdeedoodee

Reactions
Hi Folks

I posted this odd one to help out others in same situation

I'm a builder and was looking at getting my CAA license to use my mavic inspecting roofs and buildings that i may or may not get the work to rectify if any faults were found.
I've been flying everything for 30 years RC wise (BMFA member), big gas planes/jets/ 200mph+ F5D and have a monster drag racing glider with a hand made 400amp esc and 400amp geared motor,..so as you can see i fly at the edge of RC performance, I've also been building and flying RC helicopters for 20 years.
Back when quadcopters were unheard about 15 years or more ago i hand built my first quad out of aluminium tubes with the only flight controller available worldwide.
I've also had 40 hour lessons on a full size helicopter (Huges schweiser 300 piston engine heli)
I currently fly a paramotor and wing which there is no licence requirement as its foot launched aircraft.
So as you can see i have a fair amount of flying experience.
Anyway I looked on the CAA website to see whats involved and found this information as below.

From CAA website
National Qualified Entities (NQEs) are established to assess the competence of people operating small unmanned aircraft as part of the CAA's process in granting operating permissions.

Assessment by an NQE is necessary for those with no previous aviation training or qualifications. To achieve this, NQEs may offer a short educational course/programme prior to the competency assessment aimed at bringing an individual's knowledge up to the required level (but please note that these are not CAA approved training courses).

A typical NQE full-course involves:

• pre-entry/online study
  • 1-3 days of classroom lessons and exercises
  • a written theory test
  • a flight assessment