DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Considering ipad Mini - question regarding WiFi only.

Onward/Upward

Reactions
Hello all, I have seen a couple of references to this but I just wanted to get some clarification. I have been flying my Mavic Pro for a couple of months now using my Samsung Galaxy S7 phone with the controller. I have had some glitchiness here and there but for the most part it has worked fine. Aside for the potential of more issues while trying to use it to fly I am finding that the screen is really too small/too difficult to see a lot of the time and am thinking that a tablet is the way to go. What I am trying to figure out is what the best way to go is....I have an older, small Samsung Tab that is WiFi only. I am not yet sure that it has the horsepower or compatibility to run the Go4 app though. I could go out and get an iPad Mini and have the benefits of the power of a new/dedicated device (what's more money at this point?!?) and the better DJI compatibility to use. But I would be inclined to go WiFi only with that too if that doesn't limit things too much. My phone can be used as a hotspot and I also have a Verizon 4GLTE MiFI unit as well that I could tether either device to. But what am I giving up (if anything) in going about it this way versus running the controller with a phone or tablet that has cell service? I would appreciate any pluses and minuses any of you have from experience as well as suggestions for what approach I should take. Thanks!

Reactions: Aerial West
But what am I giving up (if anything) in going about it this way versus running the controller with a phone or tablet that has cell service?