DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crashed Phantom - Learning to fly used Phantom prior to Mavic Air purchase

TigerWoodsofFishing

Reactions
Hi All. I am new to drones and thought I would start out with a used Phantom 3. I was completely successful flying it at a cabin in Eastern WA, where I literally flew it multiple times a half mile distance and took great shots of a lake, tress and cabins. I did lose it twice, but engaged the RTH function knowing that it was essentially flying in a direct obstacle free course back to me.

When I got home I thought I would fly it in my neighborhood which I had successfully performed multiple times. It was not connecting to GPS so I thought I would go ahead and take it for a short flight anyway. Huge mistake. It flew around under control for a minute or so before rocketing towards me and crashing into my garage hard enough to eject the battery and brake 2 props.

I ordered additional props. The props may be slightly different, but very hard to tell.

I checked for any visual damage and do not see anything other than a very small tear in the silicone shocks for the camera. I have re-run the IMU calibration even though it says it is unnecessary.

When I attempt to take off from auto take of the drone struggle to lift off. If I engage the controller to rise the drone has a severe wobble and has to be engaged to stay in the air. I can fly it back and forth, but I need to engage the up stick to keep it in the air.

Any thoughts assistance would be great. Have I destroyed the drone or is it possible for me to repair it? If / when I manage to properly fly this drone I intend to move up to a Mavic Air.

Thank you much,

Stephen

Attachments

• IMG_5888.jpg
    IMG_5888.jpg
    126.1 KB · Views: 20
  • IMG_5887 (002).jpg
    IMG_5887 (002).jpg
    47.3 KB · Views: 20