DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Releases SDK for Mini 3

Conservative Nihilist

Reactions
I'm a Mavic 2 Pro owner who might in the future buy a Mini 3 now that just yesterday DJI released the long-awaited SDK for the Mini 3 that will enable Litchi to offer waypoint mission capabilities for the Mini 3 that will extend way beyond the reach of the RC signal where such autonomous flying is permitted. The release of this SDK is a MONUMENTAL development that merits breaking out the champagne glasses for a spot of wild jubilation.

So let's hear it for DJI you Mini 3 owners, for today your prayers have been answered, and therefore soon, very soon, your Mini 3 will be able to boldly venture where it dared not in the past, thanks to the magic of Litchi waypoint mission flying with on board GPS data storage .

Any links or sources for this news? Especially the detail about waypoints missions being able to continue when RC signal is lost? If this is true then it's a significant change in direction for DJI and waypoint missions on consumer drones.

Learning that the Mini 3's SDK rollout won't be for another 4 to 6 months is a buzz-kill for sure, but to respond to Scro's question about waypoint missions, that SDK is all that is needed by Litchi's code-meisters to impart that beyond-signal-range waypoint capability on the Mini 3, provided that GPS data can be stored on board the drone at the start of waypoint missions, which is the core prerequisite for any DJI drone to attain the capability of embarking on fully autonomous waypoint flights extending beyond the RC signal range.