DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from Central Wisconsin, soon traveling to South-Central Arizona for the winter.

MotorPsycho

Reactions
Central Wisconsin and South-Central Arizona
Hello everyone.

I've never done RC flying. I've been an amateur photographer for most of my life and done some astrophotography for the last 25 years. I decided to retire from astrophotography after last winter.

When I heard about the new Mavic 2 drones I got interested. I just purchased a Mavic 2 Pro and am fairly excited to take it to Arizona. Where we winter, there are almost unlimited photography options in the desert mountains and the wildlife is prolific.

I've had my drone up twice and taken one picture.

Mostly, I'll be waiting until I get to Arizona.

Where we winter, there are almost unlimited photography options in the desert mountains and the wildlife is prolific.

Welcome! Or as we say in Oz... g'day mate :)
Nice picture for a start and hope you have a long and happy relationship with your M2P. (I'd stay away from the wildlife though.)

Welcome! Or as we say in Oz... g'day mate :)
Nice picture for a start and hope you have a long and happy relationship with your M2P. (I'd stay away from the wildlife though.)

Why stay away from wildlife?

I realize critter's will hear the drone, so closeups won't work, but I should be able to get a better look, in some cases, than I can with the naked eye.

A couple of years ago, on two separate occasions, we saw a large cat, well over 100 yards away. The distance was too great to identify it as either a bobcat or mountain lion.

Frequently, we get close with DSLR equipment.

View media item 2485

Why stay away from wildlife?

I realize critter's will hear the drone, so closeups won't work, but I should be able to get a better look, in some cases, than I can with the naked eye.