DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help with cause of a Mavic crash into the sea.

agrippa907th

Reactions
Hi all,

I've been a Mavic user for around 8 months, but I am new to understanding flight logs as this is the frist time I've really looked at one.

Last week I lost my drone in the sea in Thailand. I was flying in a small fishing village and at about 150 meters altitude it suddenly fell from the sky into the sea (after about a minute of flying).

I couldn't see any warning errors pop up except a compass error one and I need some help finding out why it just dropped from the sky. I noticed a propeller missing when I looked at the log, but.... I'm not sure how it could just pop off. There were no birds at all in the sky.

Luckily the sea was only about 2 meters deep and some fishermen were able to retrieve the drone (without the battery - it must has fallen off in the crash). However, due to being in salt water for about 30 minutes, the drone circuitry is dead :(

I've attached the logs (I'm sure to fully view them) and the video from the DJIGO app. The video of the crash from the microSD is unplayable (although the card is working fine) :(

NOTE: Not sure how to get the logs shown on this thread. Here is a dropbox link to the CSV. How can I make it visable to upload?

Dropbox - 2017-07-19_13-06-16_Standard.csv

This is the video from the DJI app (Sorry for the music - had to mute a lot of expletives :) )

Thank you so much for any help you gusy can offer! I really appreciate it.

Attachments

• 11111.jpg
    11111.jpg
    234.5 KB · Views: 213
One thing that stands out in your statement is that the battery was not attached. I wouldn't think that a water impact should be hard enough to eject a secured battery.

One thing that stands out in your statement is that the battery was not attached. I wouldn't think that a water impact should be hard enough to eject a secured battery.