DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How to video a flyover

thegronz

Reactions
Hello;

I’m going to video neighborhood amenities such as flying over tennis courts, pools, and recreation areas. Can someone tell me how to target something like a tennis court, and have the gimbal stay on the court as the drone approaches it and flies over? Will a waypoint accomplish this? I’m trying to avoid having to use the wheel to control the gimbal axis.

Thanks

John

A set of well-positioned Waypoints (and their respective Points of Interest) should cover it. Check YouTube for Waypoint 2.0 tutorials, as I just started learning about them, and using them myself. It’s actually quite amazing once you get it going, because you can program from lift-off to landing.

Essentially:
- Establish Waypoint A, Waypoint B, and any subsequent waypoint to create your path, with altitude, speed, and camera action (start video, stop video, take picture).
- Establish Points of Interest (eg tennis court, clubhouse, pool) with height where you want your camera pointed.
- Once saved you can simulate the flight to see how it may look. Your screen will actually show what the camera will see, based on virtual mapping.

Last edited:
Reactions: Gindra and DanaMc
I would suggest using Litchi software. You can use these tools to plan and fly your mission virtually in Google Earth, and get it exactly right before you even take your drone outside.

So is that one of the primary benefits of buying Litchi, instead of using Go 4’s Waypoints...the ability to plan and establish flights offline, without having to connect your Mavic to the RC? That alone may justify the added cost.

Reactions: Gindra and BigAl07