DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Locations that are indistinguishable from NYC?

nycfilmmaker48

Reactions
Hi friends,

I'm an editor currently working on a feature film that is set in NYC. The script calls for some overhead drone shots– not of the skyline per se, but from a lower height, looking down on busy sidewalks and parks with the main focus being the people. We want to be able to see people, like ants, but still have the feeling of watching from the POV of some omniscient perspective.

We understand that flying drones in NYC is a no-go and are trying to get creative about what other locations, where the streets are more or less indistinguishable from New York from a certain height, might be more conducive to filming. Boston? Chicago? Kansas City?

I'd love to hear from locals in any city where the regulations are a little more lenient about where 'the spots' are for these types of shots. And if they're impossible, it's helpful to know that too. Thanks in advance for your insight.

Can you elaborate? I've worked with the Mayor's Office in the past and am unaware of any kind of exemption. Can't find any page about it on the state or mayor's website.

Hi friends,

I'm an editor currently working on a feature film that is set in NYC. The script calls for some overhead drone shots– not of the skyline per se, but from a lower height, looking down on busy sidewalks and parks with the main focus being the people. We want to be able to see people, like ants, but still have the feeling of watching from the POV of some omniscient perspective.

We understand that flying drones in NYC is a no-go and are trying to get creative about what other locations, where the streets are more or less indistinguishable from New York from a certain height, might be more conducive to filming. Boston? Chicago? Kansas City?